Spaso-preobrazhenska-Sergius convent in Valgunde. Monastic life modern secular people is something unthinkable. Our mind is hard to understand what could cause a person to renounce all worldly pleasures, to wear monastic clothes and go into voluntary imprisonment. However, hundreds of years, people continue to live in monasteries and spiritual exploits, spending every day from early morning until late in the evening in prayer and renunciation of all earthly things.
Spaso-preobrazhenska came into being at the end of the 19th century. It is situated just a few kilometres away from Jelgava, on the vast lawn of thick forest, which the pilgrims sometimes seems almost fabulous. The fabulous monastery itself seems to be the territory. Circle green trees, bushes of Roses of different colors and varieties, an amazing clean and soothing silence, only the discontinuous birdsong da bells, describing the beginning of the masses.
Everywhere you look — all is meaningless. Well with the fertile water is it about five times a year. And three old oak, accrete into a single trunk, is a symbol of the Holy Trinity. In the forest a little further from the monastery — God's Hill. On one of the trees of the sisters have strengthened the icon of mother of God, put a few wooden benches. There is a legend that there was once a phenomenon of the Virgin.
Spaso-preobrazhenska officially began 17iûnâ 1894 year. It was the day the Tsar Alexander III the emperor has deigned to give the gift of Holy Trinity Orthodox community over 170 acres of State forest near the city of Mitavoj (Elgavoj). However, the orders of high ranks and strict formalities established would have remained, if not maybe the sisters Catherine and Natalia Mansurovyh. Catherine and Natalia were brilliant future-balls, a good marriage, luxury tours to the light. But the sisters, daughters of a lady-in-waiting to her Imperial Majesty Princess Maria Nikolaevna, née Dolgorukovoj, and State Secretary of his Imperial Majesty Boris Pavlovich Mansurova is consciously abandoned the tempting prospects in the light and took monastic vows.
A lot of effort put into the base and Natalia Ekaterina Riga Orthodox female monastery. And when the Riga monastery was already more or less a sisters enthusiastically began the construction of its affiliate, the Saviour-Transfiguration of the desert. In their eyes the Riga monastery had over time become a major educational centre of orthodoxy, and pustyn′ka is the place for secluded concentrated prayer.
In the dense pine forest, now owned by the Orthodox community, sister Mansurovy have found a Glade that was cross. Here on one of the trees they have strengthened the small icon "Phenomenon Of Sergius of Radonezh and fervently prayed to our Lady showed his grace and helped in the difficult work of the monastery. It is now in the Spaso-Preobrajenskaya desert residents about 70 nuns. And in the first year there were only six, but in the dark forests of the icon of the mother of God is a glimmer of light, where in the evenings after a day of being sisters evening prayer rule. Gradually, the Meadow was enclosed with a fence on the site where the intended to erect a shrine, erected a large octagonal cross. The temple is very needed and nuns and living next door to the Hermitage Orthodox population. And here in August 6, 1897 Valgundskom forest with the blessing of Archbishop Arseny made a bookmark of the Temple in the name of the Transfiguration.
Slowly but surely, pustyn′ka was built on donations: wooden building with seven cells, to complete the construction of houses for pilgrims and igumen and was consecrated on June 20, 1899 built Preobrazhensky Temple. This gave untiring labours shoots first Abbess of the monastery of the mother of God (Catherine Mansurova) and her faithful Associates mother Johanna (Natalia Mansurova).
After the consecration of the Church in the desert began regular worship services. As follows from the correspondence of the Mansurovyh sisters, the idea to make the desert a place for secluded prayer completely failed. "We have, thank God, everything is quiet," wrote Natalia. Is So peaceful and good, that only help God more».
And in May 1901 at the Spaso-Preobrazhenskiy deserts first brought the procession Âkobštadtskuû the miraculous icon of the mother of God. Miraculous came from the monastery of the Holy Spirit of Jekabpils in Riga, where she visited many temples, from there to Jelgava. And it carried from Jelgava big procession in the Spaso-Preobrazhenskiy deserts. This pious tradition of raising a miracle took place in the heart of the believers so that it complied with until the 1914goda, when the first world war broke out. And then, in the cycle of wars and revolutions, shrine, like many others, was completely lost. One of the current versions, it was German General is a collector of Orthodox icons.
In the spring of 1907, was received by special decree, which prohibited the construction of another temple in the desert. The wooden church was conceived and built in the style of ancient, as if lost in the backwoods of rural churches. By the spring of 1908, the temple was already fully equipped and consecrated in the name of the heavenly patrons of the desert and the Riga Monastery-St. John Climacus and St. Sergius of Radonezh.
Desert life increasingly better: worked as a parochial school, Hospice House hosted the pilgrims Hospice has been sick and single women. The desert has become a universally recognized spiritual Center.
In 1915 during the first world war came close to these places. The sisters were hastily evacuated, and at the premises of the monastery lies the German hospital. To this day, the memory of those terrible years alive in a monastery: the Germans buried their dead soldiers. Uninformed people caught in the desert for the first time, be unusual, as if built in neat rows of crosses. And for visiting kiziltash pustynka sisters caring for the graves of German soldiers is an indispensable part of their daily obedience. Nobody is forgotten, nothing within these walls is not forgotten …
Restoration of war-the abode of razorënnoj required strength and resources, but all were urgently needed, sometimes sisters lacked even the bread. But the monastery began to recover from the turmoil, as World War II broke out, so its today's appearance of the monastery acquired already in the postwar years.
Now the sisters monastery fully serve their own monastery. They work in the kitchen and in the field, in the bakery and laundry service, the stockyard and the food cellar. Many of the sisters manifest themselves in a variety of tvorčestvah. So, in the monastery there are seamstresses, Embroiderers, gold-work which are masterpieces of the Orthodox Church-applied art.
The nuns have a mode of day throughout life is almost the same. Every morning they get up at 5.30 am to 6.00 am on the service in the temple. On her end, about 11, are sent to the refectory for breakfast, then have the obedience-working in the fields and stockyard, sew, bake the Prosphora herself, cleaning temples and cemeteries. At 3 p.m. the sisters for lunch, then a bit of free time and again, obedience. From 17.30 to 19.00 in the monastery church — Vespers, and then a procession with the Virgin around the monastery of iveron icon. The nuns recited prayer rules and not go to sleep earlier, 23.00. At best a dream they have is six hours. However, on Sundays, when the divine services in the Church begins an hour later, the nuns manage to sleep a little more. And on Christmas week and Yuletide is for them come holiday-lodges are canceled, the au pair is only the most necessary.
By Christian conscience sisters have to worry not only about their monastic cemetery, where the graves of prominent Orthodox priests and nuns, but also about the grave of German soldiers of the first world war, also located on the territory of the monastery. In their graves they, like everyone else, planted flowers and put on Easter Radonitsu fancy cakes.
Holy Saviour-Transfiguration of the desert:
- The icon of the Savior and the temple image of St. John Climacus. These icons periodically sharpen, when Miro Miro drains very profusely and consistently, it is collected with a soft brush and add the oil. Confessor of the monastery Archimandrite Tikhon every Sunday after the Divine Liturgy pomazyvaet believers.
- Iveron icon of the Virgin, which most often pray for happiness in his personal life, the gift of children, healing from diseases. A few years after the second world war this image found in the attic of one of the houses in pustyn′ke. The icon was placed in a beautiful robe, and literally as soon as its prayers have become miracles.
- Tolgskaya icon of the Virgin.
- Kazan icon of the mother of God, made of enamel and painted enamel. A couple of years ago, this image was consecrated into the abode of the ordinary man. Father Tikhon, then quietly said, "that's us in the monastery of this!" he managed to say as the man immediately gladly gave to the abode of the image.
- Fyodorovskaya icon of the Virgin (ancient letters). In the King's Gate Church of John Climacus.
- Icon Of St. Nicholas The Wonderworker. She was seventeen years in the monastery. Icon stole a man all these years was martyred these five years ago, on the eve of summer, Nicola decided to return the relic home is just planted the image to the entrance of the Church of John Climacus.
- Icon Of The Transfiguration Of The Lord. A year ago, the sisters gave the image of the mother of Sergius of Diveyevo monastery.
- Icon Of Sergius Of Radonezh.
On the territory there are three temple today visiting kiziltash pustynka-Preobrazhensky (usually open on holidays of Easter, Christmas and the Transfiguration of the Lord), in the name of John Climacus and House Church in honor of the Nativity of the Virgin Mary, where the sisters recited a prayer and worship services are held only on the Nativity of the Virgin.