Riga Dome Cathedral is the symbol and one of the main attractions of the city of Riga. The Dome Cathedral is the largest medieval church in the Baltic States. First of all, the Duomo is equated with religion and belief. The Dome Cathedral, not just building-this architectural project entered in the register of world heritage sites, for more than a hundred years he glorifies the name of its architect E.f. Walkeri. The Cathedral’s name comes from the Latin expression is “Domus Dei” (“House of God”). Currently, the main church building of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Latvia. Along with the Church of St. Peter and St. Ekoba Cathedral, is the dominant elevation in old Riga and forming the old town urban element (in particular, the key to building the dome square).
Its Builder was the Bishop Albert of Riga, founder of the order of the brothers of Christ Knights, more known under the name of sword. With their help he conquered tribes of Livs and settled in Livonia. In 1210, the burned out fishing village next to the Bishop’s farmstead, and Albert used the occasion to grab this piece of land. In 1211, the first stone was laid in the Foundation of the Cathedral and consecrated ground, the bandwidth reserved for construction. The temple spent huge sums in taxes collected from the conquered Baltic lands. Episcopal Cathedral was supposed to beat St. Petra, which then began to build Riga’s craftsmen and merchants. Albert invited architects from Germany and put in front of them to build a temple in a new, rascvetaûŝem Gothic style. Grandiose arches supported by columns, stained-glass Windows, the abundance of sculptures in the shape of a cross plan – all these Gothic were absolutely not peculiar to the local architecture, magnificent building Cathedral towering over the town as a symbol of the triumph of the Catholic Church.
Next to the Duomo was built a monastery for the Dome Cathedral. At the end of the 16th century organ was installed in the Cathedral. The final appearance of the Cathedral acquired only in the 18th century, after several reorganizations. For example, the shape of the Tower, which the Lightning has struck four times, each time when restoring has varied depending on the tastes of the era. Organ Hall of the Dome Cathedral, one of the most popular places for tourists. Body with incredible acoustic power has four sets of keys to the hands. He reconstructed three times. Works great for many prominent composers have written authority and gave its concerts in the Cathedral. At the time of its construction in the world, there was no authority which surpassed in size the.
Over the years, substantially increased cultural layer around the Cathedral as the Church firmly stood for all these years, and around it the thing disappeared and new ones have arisen again. Now, in order to get inside the Church have to descend the stairs down, and earlier had to climb up, Yes, time does not stand still. The Dome Church was restored in 1959-1962, it was recreated Interior exactly as was more than 400 years ago, and is still under its arches organ sounds. Today the monastery is situated in the buildings of the Museum of the history of Riga and navigation Museum.